Skip to Main Content
Sign In
Visit Apply Give

Student Awards 2017-2018

Image Picker for Section 0
Chinese Program Awards

Marcianna Green (BAFLL Chinese 2018) and Reed Bidgood (BAFLL Chinese 2018) both received the Confucius Institute Outstanding Student Awards. Marcianna was also admitted to the Institute of China Studies at Zhejiang University with a full scholarship from the Chinese Government and New York University. In addition, the Air Force has selected Reed as an Olmsted Scholar. This is a highly competitive and distinguished program that will fund a two year cultural immersion experience and master's degrees for him at a university of his choosing, anywhere in the world.

French Program Awards
Lindsay Kaslow, Professor Emeritus of French Dr. Theodore E.D. Braun, and Kayla Dickens

Lindsay Kaslow, Professor Emeritus of French Dr. Theodore E.D. Braun, and Kayla Dickens

Lindsay Kaslow (BA French, International Relations 2018) and Kayla Dickens (BA Linguistics, MAFLL French 2016, MAFLP French 2018) were awarded the Theodore E.D. Braun Undergraduate and Graduate Prizes at the French Honors Ceremony.

Lindsay also received a Richard A. Zipser study abroad scholarship award for fall 2017.

Devon Grant (Medical Diagnostics major, French minor) and Amy Nicolas (B Chemical Engineering 2018) were honored as "Students of Distinction" at a special dinner held on April 26, 2018, sponsored by the Office of the Provost and Vice-Provost for Diversity. Both students were nominated by Ms. Donna Coulet du Gard and Dr. Deborah Steinberger for their excellence in French studies.


Phoebe Hertler (Honors Chemistry major, German minor) was awarded the Marion E. Wiley Memorial Award, which recognizes the accomplishments of a non-major student in German beyond the intermediate level.

Christopher Elko (Linguistics and Three Languages major) and Kaitlin Shorr (German major) received the 2018 Fulda Awards, comprehensive scholarships for the international summer language program held at the Fachhochschule Fulda in Germany. Christopher also won a Richard A. Zipser study abroad scholarship award for fall 2017.

Sharon Hollenbach (Linguistics and German major) procured the $1000 Sepp Hilsenrad Memorial Award, which acknowledges outstanding work in German at the advanced level.

Alexander Keulmann (BA Economics 2018) received the German-American-Federation Scholarship to study at a German university for one year.


Emma Thieke (Honors Three Languages major) won the Italian Faculty Award, Danielle Iacovelli (Honors International Relations and Three Languages major) was awarded the Eugenia Slavov Award, and Nicholas Finelli (Biology and Italian major) received the Di Pietro Essay Award at the annual Italian awards ceremony in May.

Daniel Taylor (International Business major, Italian minor) and Edoardo Frezza (Neuroscience and Italian major) won the Giuseppe Verdi Lodge Award, while Miranda Armiger (Italian major), Matthew Bleacher (Italian major), and Elizabeth Webb (History and Italian major) received the Italo-Americans United Award. Matthew also earned the prestigious Italo-Americans United Plaque.


Lan Chen (BS Computer Science, BAFLL Japanese 2017)) and Carly Deluca (BA Asian Studies, BAFLL Japanese 2018) received the Dr. Sayo Kato Yotsukura Memorial Prize for Excellence in the Japanese Major. The award consists of a certificate and cash prize. 

The 2018 UD Annual Japanese Haiku Contest Winners were: 

{Best in show; JAPN200, 201,202, 204}  Sam Katz (Honors BS Cognitive Science, Honors BS Psychology 2018, MA Linguistics and Cognitive Science 2018) 

平和な巣                   Peaceful nest 

囀りリリリ              Twit-twit-twit-twittering 

ネコが見る              Cat watching 

[JAPN105]  Olivia Rorke (Pre-Vet Medicine and Animal Science major)

はなぐもり                    Blossom Haze* 

しがつ、おねがい      April, please 

いかないで                    Don't go.   

[JAPN106 & 107]  Ying Luo (Japanese major) 

子供には                        Children 

ふるい春歌                   Old spring songs 

分からない                   Do not understand   

[JAPN305/455]   Justin Sung (B Mechanical Engineering, Japanese minor 2018) 

三日月が                       The crescent moon 

朧にかくれ                   hides behind the mist 

夜見張る                       watching over the night


Ryan Fitzpatrick (BA Three Languages 2018) won the Eugenia Slavov award for excellence in Russian. 


Rachel Rosenberg (International Relations and Spanish major) received the "Best Essay in Hispanic Literature Survey Courses" award for "Indigenismo—'Choc Mool' y 'Malccoy.'"

Daniel Schaefer (Linguistics and Spanish major) was awarded the "Best Essay in Upper-division Hispanic Literature and Culture Courses" award for "Viernes sereno."

Robert Pritchard (Honors BA Political Science, BAFLL Spanish 2016, MAFLL Spanish 2018) earned the "Best Graduate Student Essay in Spanish" for "El desdoblamiento de Carmen Martín Gaite: La concienciación política en El cuarto de atrás."

Hailey Zirkle (Honors BA Criminal Justice, BAFLL Spanish Studies 2018) received the "Sigma Delta Pi Book Award" for the new initiate majoring in Spanish with the highest cumulative index.

Page Settings and MetaData:
(Not Shown on the Page)
Page Settings
Student Awards 2017-2018
MetaData for Search Engine Optimization
Student Awards 2017-2018
Fall 2018 Polyglot
  • Department of Languages, Literatures & Cultures
  • Jastak-Burgess Hall
  • University of Delaware
  • 30 East Main St.
  • Newark, DE 19716, USA
  • Phone: 302-831-2591